Top 3 Metrics for 2013

Success in 2013

Success in 2013

Greetings Friends!

So, have you created a goals list for 2013?  Have you captured the dream of what this year is going to be about for you and your business yet?  If not, I wouldn’t worry too much.  It’s early and I personally like the idea of mulling things over deeply rather than choosing my goals in a rush.  Creating a deeply fulfilling, successful year will look different from business owner to business owner; in fact, what might be most important for you at this point in 2013 is looking at what didn’t work for you in 2012.

What didn’t work for me?  Overwhelm!  Too many metrics, too much information and not enough down time.  What did work for me?  Finding ways to curate great content for my clients and fans and delivering it in ways that didn’t suck the life out of me personally.  To that end I have a few ideas about what metrics I will be paying the most attention to this year.

My number one metric is–show me the money.  Yep, very simple.  If you are in business for yourself and your business isn’t making money, then make that a major focus for 2013.  Think outside the box and find new ways to get in front of potential clients.  For example, if you’re a massage therapist you might want to partner with a friend who does manicures and create a home spa party program.  Your hostesses gets free treatments and you (as well as your mate) are introduced to new clients.  Or let’s say you are an acupuncturist; you might want to do a meet-up at a Panera bread a couple of times each month for people who have hypertension (or whatever demographic it is that you serve).  Give a 15 or 20 minute talk in person (or via teleconference) and offer a special for a group of sessions.  Give great content, bring hand outs, answer questions.  Make a difference–and start earning money in 2013.

Second metric; figure out what you personally need in 2013.  For me I want to do more, but simply–hence my keyword is simplicity for 2013.  I will constantly look at what’s being suggested to me in the way of expanding my business and comparing it to my intention to simplify what I do.  If I have to jump through fiery hoops to use your new gizmo–forget about it.  How about you?  What’s your keyword for 2013?

The last metric I’m looking at for 2013 is legacy–how am I making a difference in 2013?  I am intending on making a difference in the lives of 12 business women this year.  Toward that end I am giving 12 scholarships for coaching in 2013 (you can learn more here).  If I can help 12 business owners who might not have ordinarily been able to access coaching get their dreams off the ground I will feel fantastic.  Maybe legacy doesn’t mean much to you, but I encourage you to look at how you want to give back–perhaps by donating to Kiva.org, or by offering your time/talent to a worthy organization.  I encourage you to balance what you earn with what you give–we build a fabulous new world for all of us when we do so.

Start with the end in mind for 2013 (thank you Stephen Covey); make sure you’re actually earning money in your business, pick a keyword for the year and measure all you do against that keyword.  And lastly make a difference in the lives of those who need a hand.  Do this and I think 2013 will be a year you can look back at with great satisfaction, success and pride.

Rich Blessings!

Dee

Copyright 2013.  All rights reserved.

 

2 thoughts on “Top 3 Metrics for 2013

    • I have been looking at the metrics that other coaches teach–some of them I think work best for large corporations. I think for entrepreneurs–women entrepreneurs in particular, what works for us is very different!

Leave a Reply

